Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: Newbie needs advice.

  1. #1

    Default Newbie needs advice.

    Went around shooting in the neigbourhood in the morning, took a couple of pictures but alot all quite blur while some are still acceptable to me. any tips or tricks to get the pictures sharp? heres some of the shots..

    blur ones



    slightly not so blur ones



    thanks in advance dudes!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The 13th floor
    Posts
    546

    Default

    Shuttle speed should be at least 1/focal length to prevent 'camera shake'.
    eg use 1/50sec or faster when using 50mm.

  3. #3

    Default

    okok thanks.

    And what really does the aperture does to the picture, dont really under stand this..

    just swap from a P&S digicam, didn't do much settings on the previous cam..

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The 13th floor
    Posts
    546

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ajR
    okok thanks.

    And what really does the aperture does to the picture, dont really under stand this..

    just swap from a P&S digicam, didn't do much settings on the previous cam..
    1st of all, Welcome to ClubSnap & SLR!
    There's a thread regarding this:
    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=102177

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evq
    1st of all, Welcome to ClubSnap & SLR!
    There's a thread regarding this:
    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=102177
    Haha, thanks dude.
    Gawd, bringin my cam out for a walk is real heavy man compared to my old P&S!

    Woah, the water "explaination" to aperture sure makes it clear boy.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The 13th floor
    Posts
    546

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ajR
    Haha, thanks dude.
    Gawd, bringin my cam out for a walk is real heavy man compared to my old P&S!

    Woah, the water "explaination" to aperture sure makes it clear boy.
    No problem! I'm also new to SLR. Still learning.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
    Posts
    1,734

    Default

    The first few pictures are blur due to camera/hand shakes. As stated by evq and solution is also provided by evq. Avoid camera shakes by learning proper camera handling and holding, and if light is really insufficient, use a suitable camera support like a tripod/monopod.

    For aperture value other than controlling the exposure, it's also used to control the Depth of Field, which is the region that is in focus. This DOF effect is more profound in DSLR and SLR compared to compacts and prosumer digicams due the the lens used. Maybe you could tell us what camera you are using and we may be better to help. Or better, go find our nice Adam Goi and gang during a SEED session with your camera to learn more. Or even better, join a photoshoot event such as Azure's AG which is organised regularly.

    Welcome and Shoot!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The 13th floor
    Posts
    546

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flare
    The first few pictures are blur due to camera/hand shakes. As stated by evq and solution is also provided by evq. Avoid camera shakes by learning proper camera handling and holding, and if light is really insufficient, use a suitable camera support like a tripod/monopod.

    For aperture value other than controlling the exposure, it's also used to control the Depth of Field, which is the region that is in focus. This DOF effect is more profound in DSLR and SLR compared to compacts and prosumer digicams due the the lens used. Maybe you could tell us what camera you are using and we may be better to help. Or better, go find our nice Adam Goi and gang during a SEED session with your camera to learn more. Or even better, join a photoshoot event such as Azure's AG which is organised regularly.

    Welcome and Shoot!
    Azure's AG? I'm interested, when will be the next?
    Thanks!

  9. #9

    Default

    Oh, using a D70 with kit lens at the moment.

    hmm, yar i think so..my hands tremble..

    haha, sure..will try to meet up with the dudes to gain knowlegde bout stuff..
    Last edited by ajR; 22nd November 2004 at 02:44 AM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The 13th floor
    Posts
    546

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ajR
    Oh, using a D70 with kit lens at the moment.

    hmm, yar i think so..my hands tremble..

    haha, sure..will try to meet up with the dudes to gain knowlegde bout stuff..
    Maybe u can join us on 27th Nov. Pls refer to:
    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=102353
    This is the 1st time we are meeting up, hee.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
    Posts
    1,734

    Default

    Think you just missed the last one, see here.

    Well, I guess you'll have to pm Azure yourself to check.

    I'm also new to DSLR. Had been stuck with prosumers since I picked up photography until recently.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The 13th floor
    Posts
    546

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flare
    Think you just missed the last one, see here.

    Well, I guess you'll have to pm Azure yourself to check.

    I'm also new to DSLR. Had been stuck with prosumers since I picked up photography until recently.

    Hahha, I also jus found out. Thanks anyway.

  13. #13

    Default

    hmm...was wondering if a tripod like this is sufficent..

    http://www.nb-jinhui.com/images/product/sl-1200b.gif

    when i mount my cam on it...seems to tilt abit eh...

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    669

    Default

    for tripod, try to get stable one esp for DSLR which is much heavier than ur P&S, try tripods from Manfrotto, Slik, etc etc.....

    do a search in CS on tripod, and you will get all the info u would need........

    cheers.........


    Quote Originally Posted by ajR
    hmm...was wondering if a tripod like this is sufficent..

    http://www.nb-jinhui.com/images/product/sl-1200b.gif

    when i mount my cam on it...seems to tilt abit eh...

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
    Posts
    1,734

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ajR
    hmm...was wondering if a tripod like this is sufficent..

    http://www.nb-jinhui.com/images/product/sl-1200b.gif

    hen i mount my cam on it...seems to tilt abit eh...
    Hee, isn't that the free tripod with the D70? It may just be sufficient when mounted with a standard lens, but anything heavier, it's stability may be in question.

    Maybe you could look at the Manfrotto 190 pro?

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    669

    Default

    yup...190Pro is a good choice...

    Best is go down to the Tripod Section at CP (Penisular), the staffs there very frenly (forgot their name liao, Steven?), just tell them what you need and looking for and i'm sure they will give you a good recommendation....

    Quote Originally Posted by Flare
    Hee, isn't that the free tripod with the D70? It may just be sufficient when mounted with a standard lens, but anything heavier, it's stability may be in question.

    Maybe you could look at the Manfrotto 190 pro?

  17. #17

    Default

    Ok thanks for the advice again.. will pop by to have a look at the tripods.

    Whats the price range of the Manfrotto 190 Pro?

    Do i have to get a ball/pan head for the tripod? or issit included?

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    669

    Default

    yes, u do need to get a ball/pan head (again, depend on what u need and want) in addition to the tripod.

    haha...to make it more fun, you may consider monopod too! haha.....

    all info on ball heads, tripod & monopod could be found in CS.....

    take your time to do some research before committing..........

    enjoy!!!

    cheers...........

    Quote Originally Posted by ajR
    Ok thanks for the advice again.. will pop by to have a look at the tripods.

    Whats the price range of the Manfrotto 190 Pro?

    Do i have to get a ball/pan head for the tripod? or issit included?

  19. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Flare
    The first few pictures are blur due to camera/hand shakes. As stated by evq and solution is also provided by evq. Avoid camera shakes by learning proper camera handling and holding, and if light is really insufficient, use a suitable camera support like a tripod/monopod.
    I am not quite sure if the blur images are ALL due to camera/hand shakes.

    Picture #2 - I am sure this is due to camera shake. And probably also #3. Look at the TV antennae. There is a double image. This picture is taken in low light (I see window lights) and the shutter speed slow. Causing double images -> blur.

    #1 is taken in good light. I do not think this is due to camera shake. I am not familiar with you camera. But I think the focussing is off. Many possibilities. An example (not necessarily THE REASON!) is that the camera may be focussing in a textureless area like between 72 and 159, causing it to fail to focus properly.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
    Posts
    1,734

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by student
    I am not quite sure if the blur images are ALL due to camera/hand shakes.

    Picture #2 - I am sure this is due to camera shake. And probably also #3. Look at the TV antennae. There is a double image. This picture is taken in low light (I see window lights) and the shutter speed slow. Causing double images -> blur.

    #1 is taken in good light. I do not think this is due to camera shake. I am not familiar with you camera. But I think the focussing is off. Many possibilities. An example (not necessarily THE REASON!) is that the camera may be focussing in a textureless area like between 72 and 159, causing it to fail to focus properly.
    Hmmm... actually possible, but I thought I saw some 'double imaging' at the bus diagram...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •