Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Monitor Calibration

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    east side
    Posts
    1,937

    Default Monitor Calibration

    Is it worth buying a monitor calibrating hardware if ur monitor is like 4-5yrs old already?
    cos right now my black colour on my crt monitor has a reddish glow when i look at it. i had to play around with the brightness and all just to view it.

    Let say for example, based on my current monitor age, is it still possible to calibrate it to look the same as how an lcd monitor would look once the lcd monitor is calibrated?

  2. #2
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    My current Sony is 9 yrs old. (1995/96).

    There is a difference before & after calibration still. And yes, my LCD and CRT does match when comparing the same image.

    I do remember however, John Cosgrove once mentioned during the Epson Print Academy seminar that if a CRT is over 3yrs old, it's no longer good enough and it's time to replace.

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    east side
    Posts
    1,937

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zod

    if $450 is cheap,i dun want to know what is expensive

  5. #5
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Expensive - Eyeone Publish - $3k+... heehee...

    You spend so much effort & $$ on photography, don't process your images without calibrating...

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    The 13th floor
    Posts
    546

    Default

    Hi,

    I usually send for print rather than using my own printer. Do I need this calibration device?

  7. #7
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Why not? What you see on your monitor might not be what your lab printer sees on theirs. Calibration is sort of like an ISO standard, once everybody is 'standardised' everybody has the same thing.

    Even printers need calibration too!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Cocteau Twins
    Posts
    2,116

    Default

    where can i get my laptop LCD calibrated, without buying the calibration tools? i will pay for the service, of course. i can't seem to get any details from the highlights, they are all blown out (the details are there, just that i can't see them)

    tried playing around with the screen's basic settings like gamma, brightness etc, but the end result looks horrible

  9. #9
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    PM oeyvind.

  10. #10

    Default

    eye-one display 2 sells locally for retail S$600
    so my mo for $450 is very cheap
    once again, the link is
    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=100544

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stereobox
    where can i get my laptop LCD calibrated, without buying the calibration tools? i will pay for the service, of course. i can't seem to get any details from the highlights, they are all blown out (the details are there, just that i can't see them)

    tried playing around with the screen's basic settings like gamma, brightness etc, but the end result looks horrible
    In the long run, it makes more sense to buy your own calibrator, as the recommended frequency of calibration ranges from at least once a week to once a month. Depending on how much these services costs, it could be more economical to get your own.

    I'm also waiting to get my own unit... sian, the buying never ends, does it?

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    east side
    Posts
    1,937

    Default

    i asked a friend to help me calibrate my monitor, although theres a slight difference in colour now but...is that all...
    at the back of my head i was expecting a "WOW" effect but i guess i had set too high an expectation for it...

    any other ways i get more out of a calibrated monitor? was wondering if he did it properly or not.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eadwine
    i asked a friend to help me calibrate my monitor, although theres a slight difference in colour now but...is that all...
    at the back of my head i was expecting a "WOW" effect but i guess i had set too high an expectation for it...

    any other ways i get more out of a calibrated monitor? was wondering if he did it properly or not.
    depends on your monitor

    for me, I use easy mode if the monitor cannot let u do any adjustment

    if your monitor let u adjust RGB value, use advance mode should be more accurate

    btw, how u all calibrate the eye-one? using white card or just a plain A4 paper? wonder if it will make any different...

    may be your monitor colour is quite accurate, so it dun make much differnet to u....i tried calibrate my apple display and there was no differnet too. On the other hand, one of my LCD monitor colour was way out, after calibrate it was so much better.

    on another LCD monitor that I have...i used to had a hard time to play with the RGB, brightness and contrast to get the colour that i am comfortable with. but now with eye-one...after a few minutes and the calibration is done..and i am more confident with its colour now when i compare with the apple display as reference

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    east side
    Posts
    1,937

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wai
    depends on your monitor

    for me, I use easy mode if the monitor cannot let u do any adjustment

    if your monitor let u adjust RGB value, use advance mode should be more accurate

    btw, how u all calibrate the eye-one? using white card or just a plain A4 paper? wonder if it will make any different...

    may be your monitor colour is quite accurate, so it dun make much differnet to u....i tried calibrate my apple display and there was no differnet too. On the other hand, one of my LCD monitor colour was way out, after calibrate it was so much better.

    on another LCD monitor that I have...i used to had a hard time to play with the RGB, brightness and contrast to get the colour that i am comfortable with. but now with eye-one...after a few minutes and the calibration is done..and i am more confident with its colour now when i compare with the apple display as reference
    dun get what u mean about calibrating the eye one with white card and stuff though..?
    thought just install s/w, place eyeone display and click? am i right?

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eadwine
    dun get what u mean about calibrating the eye one with white card and stuff though..?
    thought just install s/w, place eyeone display and click? am i right?
    then probably you have missed out one step...

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    east side
    Posts
    1,937

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wai
    then probably you have missed out one step...
    hmm did the small piece of instruction show us how, shall go read again ..

    me using eye one display 2 by the way, and it doesnt seem possible to calibrate 2 monitors linked from the same video card is there??
    my lcd and crt displays still look slightly different though
    Last edited by eadwine; 23rd November 2004 at 08:05 AM.

  17. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wai
    btw, how u all calibrate the eye-one? using white card or just a plain A4 paper? wonder if it will make any different...
    i saw somewhere either in quick start instructions or the tutorial. place on black matt surface and calibrate.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    east side
    Posts
    1,937

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madmacs
    i saw somewhere either in quick start instructions or the tutorial. place on black matt surface and calibrate.
    thats weird, for eye one display 2, the quick start didnt mention anything about placin it on black matt surface.... is urs an eye one display 2 set?

  19. #19

    Default

    yes display 2. let me check when i get home.

  20. #20

    Default

    doesn't matter what colour surface you put on, as long as it is flat
    cos the foam will block out any ambient light so anything the sensor sees will be pitch black

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •