Thread: Metering

Default Metering

Hi all

Im new to photography, am using sony A77x can I ask how does the AEL button works? And how come when I turn my dial to Manual. The exposure compensation sort like become automatic and not changeable.

Will be glad to share with me

Default Re: Metering

Quote Originally Posted by Mronetwothree View Post
    Hi all

Im new to photography, am using sony A77x can I ask how does the AEL button works? And how come when I turn my dial to Manual. The exposure compensation sort like become automatic and not changeable.

Will be glad to share with me
    Have you real your manual? It's a good place to start.

1. AEL will keep the metered reading for the scene while you hold down the AEL button. You will see a "*". I prefer switching this to "toggle" in the menu, so it becomes like an on/off switch to maintain the metered reading.

2. Of course. You are in full manual. Why would the camera auto-compensate for you? What it will do is still meter the scene, then the metered target exposure will be shifted by what you selected for +-EV, then you can adjust your shutter speed/aperture/ISO till it lines up with the target.

FYI, you have a free basic DSLR course courtesy of Sony - I suggest you go for it. But please, read your manual first.
    Alpha

i'd suggest to start with "A" mode and then working your way to "M" mode. jumping straight to Manual without knowing how exposure works will definitely leave you clueless

Quote Originally Posted by kei1309 View Post
    i'd suggest to start with "A" mode and then working your way to "M" mode. jumping straight to Manual without knowing how exposure works will definitely leave you clueless
    Yeah, good point. TS, like you said, you're new to photography - so why are you in Manual mode? Learn to walk before you run.
    Alpha