Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Please Help!

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Beeshan
    Posts
    1,830

    Default Please Help!

    hi,

    i m having some problems with my plug and play. when i plug in my card reader, my computer cant seem to detect it. but if i plug in and reboot or boot up with the reader plugged in, my comp detects it. its the same for all my usb devices ie. camera, printer etc.

    anybody has any idea whats wrong?

    does updating my bios work? i m using an ASUS P4P-800, Win XP Pro

    and also, how do i boot up in dos mode?

    really hope any tech experts there can help!
    thanks!!!

    really desperate!!!

  2. #2
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default

    From your post I think that the problems is with your USB ports, did you try other USB ports? Does your usb devices work on other computers? If none of the USB ports work and your USB devices work on other computers, I suggest a reformat to get a new setup, if that doesn't work. Then it is a hardware problem. Is your computer still under warranty? Get them to fix it, before you kill your computer totally.

  3. #3
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Did you enable USB PNP in your bios? Try disabling/enabling it

  4. #4

    Default

    maybe the USB is not turn on from the BIOS. need to enable those USB legacy devices in the BIOS settings. also check BIOS to make sure those devices thats suppose to be auto detect, set them to 'auto detect'.

    hope this helps.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Beeshan
    Posts
    1,830

    Default

    hi,

    thanks for ur help guys, i did wat u guys suggested(enabling the usb ports and auto detect).. but still it doesnt work(the PnP feature)

    i dun think its hardware? cos as i said, when i plug in and boot up, the devices are detected(my usb ports are currently on board)

    does updating(flashing) my bios work? i read the asus site and they said i need to boot in ms dos mode. anyone knows how to do it?

    thanks...
    still very desperate

  6. #6
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Yepz, insert a win98SE CD, boot to command prompt and do the updating there

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Beeshan
    Posts
    1,830

    Default

    espn, but i m using Win XP Pro leh

    is there anyway i can "repair" my Win XP Pro(cos dunno if its my windows have prob)
    heard that XP has a repair feature? but will it disrupt all my program files?

    sigh...

  8. #8
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    It's ok, Win98SE will still boot and give you options to go to command prompt.

    For Win2K/XP I think pressing F4 or F8 before the logo screen boots up will enable a selection of choice to boot to command prompt too!!!

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Beeshan
    Posts
    1,830

    Default

    hey espn, what do u do ah.. u seem damn well versed in all tech stuff...

    i in computer engine in ntu(yr1).. have no bloody idea wats going on!!!???!?!?!heh heh

    erm, how abt the repiar function?

    thanks for ur fast replies!!!!

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Beeshan
    Posts
    1,830

    Default

    any ideas guys?

  11. #11
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default

    reinstall windows to get a fresh OS running after that use winupdate to update your OS to the latest.

  12. #12
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    I not that well tech versed already, lost it after getting bored with IT stuff and stuck with photography but basic troubleshooting, DIY skills still there tho'

    Btw, I work in IT also

    The repair function is only for Win2K/XP? I have no idea how to use it since I installed my first 2K till now.

    After booting to DOS, you'll have to follow the instructions on Asus's website to upgrade the BIOS. I normally will read up carefully or print before doing it. Normally a simple switch like /? at the command prompt after typing out the command will list the instructions.

    Hope it helps...

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Beeshan
    Posts
    1,830

    Default

    alrighty
    will spend the afternoon fighting with my com then!
    :S

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Beeshan
    Posts
    1,830

    Default

    thanks guys for all ur help...

    i updated my bios and all's fine again(erm, till the next prob crops up again)
    thanks!!!

  15. #15
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default

    Well done

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •