Thread: Reflections at Keppel

Default Reflections at Keppel

1. In what area is critique to be sought?

I would like as much feedback as possible, composition, post processing, colours etc. This is my first time trying out exposure blending and quite frankly, I don't know if I have got it right. The RAW files are blended in PS, then exported to LR3 for global adjustments as I am very unfamiliar with PS.

2. What one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?

Basically to capture a scene with architectural elements. Trying out blending using PS.

3. Under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)

Rather overcast with a chance of thunderstorm.

4. What the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture

I think the result's acceptable, not sure about compositional balance, quite unconfident about the processing.

Thanks.

i'm a noob | APWP 2012

Default Re: Reflections at Keppel

Looks good to me, the lighting on the buildilngs are just nice.

I'm thinking you could afford a longer exposure to smoothen out the water more. In addition, the horizontal perspective distortion here is a bit disorientating, I do like my lines straight and would correct this with liquification. Compositionally I find the right and left of the photograph a bit distracting and would consider having more sky by doing a vertical format composition instead. As it is right now, it is hard to come to a good crop with balance. The cyan cast on the water should also be resolved.

I have done a quick edit on the version you have posted to show what I mean (including blurring the water with motion blur to simulate the effect of a longer exposure)... All comments except for the composition.. Please let me know if you would like me to remove it. Cheers.

Quote Originally Posted by edutilos- View Post
    Looks good to me, the lighting on the buildilngs are just nice.