Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: question about image quality of film scan...

  1. #1
    Senior Member erictan8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,885

    Default question about image quality of film scan...

    hi,

    i recently went to the motorshow and shot some photos with a film SLR....
    then i sent the film for a scan and when i got back the cd, i viewed the photos and realised that there is a lot of noise.... reallly a lot of noise....

    is this the normal output of a film scan? or is the noise due to my picture being poorly taken? the average file size was about 600kb with a 1840 by 1232 pixel....

    what is the reason for the super high level of noise in the photos?

    is it:

    1. the nature of images is like that for a film scan
    2. due to my taking of pictures got problem
    3. the pixel size problem
    4. the file size too small

    dun know what's wrong???? dare not develop the photos... scared wait develop turn out also like that....
    actually thought wanted to do a film scan so go home can edit before sending for printing....
    Hope to learn from everyone here....

  2. #2
    Senior Member erictan8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,885

    Default

    a sample of one of the digital scan from the film scan

    Hope to learn from everyone here....

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    AMK
    Posts
    2,340

    Default

    hi, kinda new to flim coz i started out with digital... is this noise or grainy? i've seen iso 1600 & 3200 films. it's about the above pic? correct me if i'm wrong.

  4. #4
    Senior Member erictan8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,885

    Default

    if i ask the shop to print this photo from the negatives, will it turn out to be as grainy or as noisy? wow lao.. now i got 36 pics all look like that.... dun know what to do.... hai....


    dun know if it is the scan problem or the photo problem.....
    Hope to learn from everyone here....

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    AMK
    Posts
    2,340

    Default

    what film did you use?

  6. #6
    Senior Member erictan8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,885

    Default

    kodak 200 if i remember correctly..... hai....
    Hope to learn from everyone here....

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,522

    Default

    Film gives grains. Digital gives noise. They are mutually exclusive. Even when you scan from film it's still called grains.

    I'd say it's due to the film. Kodak 200 is a little too slow for the kind of lighting conditions at the car show.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,522

    Default

    The lab will normally try their best to clean up the pictures for you while printing, so I suggest you pick a few that you like and head down to a professional lab. Inform them the negatives are super grainy and see how much they can help.

  9. #9

    Default

    Shop scans are usual like that because they use too much sharpening... and probably only do 1 pass scanning. The actual pic wont have noise. You can run the pic through noise ninja first before putting it on the web to remove the noise.

  10. #10
    Senior Member erictan8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,885

    Default

    so can i choose those i like and send it for printing and expect to see no noise?
    hmm.... guess got to try lo....
    Hope to learn from everyone here....

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    This is normal. Film has grain. Can't expect film scans to be as clean as digital. It'll print fine, and by the time you resized it for web, they will be invisible. Don't be unduly worried.

    Regards
    CK

  12. #12

    Default

    I got mine scanned. Kodak 200 also. Noisy also.
    I'm now trying out a few noise removal programs, but the automatic settings tend to remove details...

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Land of the woods........
    Posts
    1,360

    Default Scanning negatives

    Is there any particular labs that you guys frequented to scan your negatives into digital pics?

    Perhaps can share here?

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    In the void.
    Posts
    1,323

    Default

    Basically, it's due to the scanning process. 1840x1232 at 600kb don't sound like a very good scan. If you have just ordered a scan at your average processing shop, you will most likely end up with a poor-quality single pass scan.

    I believe you can get better results if you use a dedicated film scanner yourself like a Minolta Dimage Dualscan 3 or similar. For better definition and less grain, put it on multi-pass. You will see the difference in scan results.

  15. #15

    Default

    Normal FDI lab will scan at abt 2MP only (you have to pay more to get it scan at 8MP)... forgot what's the dpi, think it's 300.

    AGFA d.LAB2 scan at 6MP and 400dpi.

    I got these negative scanned both at FDI and Agfa d.Lab2:

    http://www.pbase.com/oeyvind/superia200

  16. #16

    Default

    The Afga scan looks much cleaner. Or it is because it was scanned at hi-res?
    May I know where you can get Afga scanning, and how much it costs?

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    www.whltelightphotographer.com
    Posts
    1,834

    Default

    Also may due to fact the you might have underexpose the picture. Film scan will have some film grain like look will look up close or zoom in.

  18. #18
    Senior Member erictan8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,885

    Default

    hi,

    actually i went ahead as you guys advised and luckily, the developed photos turned out to be very clean.... not as grainy as the one above....
    i developed from the film....

    so it seems that it is rather pointless to do a fillm scan.... since the scan is so poor, so cannot edit the image and send for digital print rite???

    anyway, i took the photo and used my home scanner to do a simple scan... i think it is pretty obvious that the "grainy-ness" is gone liao....
    here, can still see a bit of grain, i guess it is from my scanner....
    but the actual photo looks as clean as razor....

    here's the pic:

    Hope to learn from everyone here....

  19. #19

    Default

    The FDI minilab uses the "grainy" 2MP scan to print all your 4Rs. This is what it does internally whenever you print from film.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zerstorer
    The FDI minilab uses the "grainy" 2MP scan to print all your 4Rs. This is what it does internally whenever you print from film.
    Those scans are optimised for 4R printing, no point looking at them 100% on screen. Too many people are obsessed with viewing at 100%. It does not really proof anything.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •