Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: 20D foucs problem ?

  1. #1
    Senior Member Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Blue/Green Planet
    Posts
    1,854

    Smile 20D foucs problem ?

    Hi all,
    Bought a 20D a week ago. Figured I will get a couple of choice lens shortly.
    I have taken quite a few photo's in the time I have had off simply to get the feel of it. I must say I like much about the features and it's use, BUT !
    I have not had ONE decent result in terms of sharpness. Ok, only the kit lens, but my Fuji F810 walks all over it in sharpness. I have tried both auto and manual focus; still not sharp. Today the Canon rep came by and I said,"here, lets go outside and both take shots of a couple of things. Result...it is not me.
    Both series of photos were not sharp. I even tried a same lens from a 300D we have.... same result !
    Any feed back
    Time, is an effortless construction :)

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    what aperture were you using on the kit lens?

    also, pics from DSLRs are generally less sharpened (by design) which helped reduce artefacts during post-processing.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Blue/Green Planet
    Posts
    1,854

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by mpenza
    what aperture were you using on the kit lens?

    also, pics from DSLRs are generally less sharpened (by design) which helped reduce artefacts during post-processing.
    Hi mpenza. I would say that during my last day off, I used a few different settings in different times.
    Looking for DOF effects with different shots. I was not impressed.
    Though a good DSLR and a Fuji 810 are quite different cameras and the results would be quite different, there is quite a difference between sharp and not sharp. The 20D results are not even close to sharp.
    The photo's that the rep and I took of some bikes outside the shop were good colour/contrast wise, but other than that, they could have been taken on a $399 Kodak.... Sorry for the length of this reply....
    To take a 20D out of the box; sit it on auto, take a photo. You shouldn't expect to be blown away, but it should be something that inspires you enough to think,"ok, lets get too it", ... not,"oh, thats a shame".
    Time, is an effortless construction :)

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Some equitorial, tropical isle
    Posts
    2,398

    Default

    Hmmm... maybe you can post the 20D pics here for analysis.... afaik, the 20D works pretty well with the kit lens.... maybe you have a dud?

    Won't be able to help much if we have not much info to work on.....

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    it's possible that the lens is back focussing or the camera needs to be calibrated. I won't be surprised as some L lenses (in particular the 70-200F4L) need focus calibration too. so far, I find the 20D pretty ok.

    here's an unprocessed 100% crop of an image taken handheld with a telezoom wide-open at F4.
    Last edited by mpenza; 17th November 2004 at 05:38 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Blue/Green Planet
    Posts
    1,854

    Smile Hi empenza

    Thanks for the reply. Please excuse my ignorance on this, but, can you expalin the bit " the camera may need to be calibrated".
    Do I take it you mean the body ??. as I have tried a different lens with same result.
    If so, (the body) what do they calibrate.
    If the camera (body, not lens) may need to be calibrated; I would have thought that this should have been done during manufacture.
    Thanks again.
    Time, is an effortless construction :)

  7. #7

    Default

    Hi Pablo,

    The kit lens should be quite sharp out of camera depending on how you setup the shot. Can you post an image with full EXIF so that we can try to help you out. Also indicate whether you are shooting with parameter 1 or 2 (if its JPEG for example).

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    Thanks for the reply. Please excuse my ignorance on this, but, can you expalin the bit " the camera may need to be calibrated".
    Do I take it you mean the body ??. as I have tried a different lens with same result.
    If so, (the body) what do they calibrate.
    If the camera (body, not lens) may need to be calibrated; I would have thought that this should have been done during manufacture.
    Thanks again.
    yup, I meant the body. maybe the AF sensor inside?

    try to post some samples for us to take a look.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Blue/Green Planet
    Posts
    1,854

    Smile Hi mpenza

    Quote Originally Posted by mpenza
    yup, I meant the body. maybe the AF sensor inside?

    try to post some samples for us to take a look.
    Hello, sorry for the (e) in mpenza before
    I will post a shot tomorrow along with Exif. I downloaded to my computer at work and cleared the card.
    Thanks guys for your interest.
    Time, is an effortless construction :)

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    GEYLAND LOR 15 LO
    Posts
    1,159

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    Thanks for the reply. Please excuse my ignorance on this, but, can you expalin the bit " the camera may need to be calibrated".
    Do I take it you mean the body ??. as I have tried a different lens with same result.
    If so, (the body) what do they calibrate.
    If the camera (body, not lens) may need to be calibrated; I would have thought that this should have been done during manufacture.
    Thanks again.
    Maybe your mirror position is out. Better check it with Canon Singapore.

  11. #11
    Senior Member Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Blue/Green Planet
    Posts
    1,854

    Smile Hi XXX Boy

    Quote Originally Posted by XXX Boy
    Maybe your mirror position is out. Better check it with Canon Singapore.
    True what you say. I am shure there is something amis. It is not my lack of skill as I have put forward (Canon rep tried with same reply).

    It is a long swim from here to Singapore so I might go to Brisbane instead .... Just joking.
    I am fortunate enough to to have it replaced if needs be. Thanks for your reply.
    Time, is an effortless construction :)

  12. #12
    Senior Member Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Blue/Green Planet
    Posts
    1,854

    Smile Hi guys

    Here, (if I got this right) is a shot I took. Is it me, or do you find this acceptable. http://www.pbase.com/froody/inbox


    Thanks for your replies
    Time, is an effortless construction :)

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,021

    Default

    Pablo, got bad news for you, Brisbane Canon won't touch your 20D, it'll have to be sent away to Sydney for any sort of work to be done. If you're going to do it, you'll be without your camera for a little longer than you might expect. The alternative might be to switch for another 20D set and send that one back to the distributor.

  14. #14
    Senior Member Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Blue/Green Planet
    Posts
    1,854

    Red face Egg on face

    Hi guys. Ok, it IS me. I feel embarrased. Till now I have been viewing the photos taken via windows viewer and PS. When I re looked at them thru Canons Digital Viewer Pro, it shows quite a different story sharpness/focus wise.
    Reguardless of any processing the Canon prog does itself, the quality I was not seeing via other methods had to be there to start with.
    I appologise for starting what seems a pointless thread
    As mentioned by others in many other discussions, "understand what you are working with before complaining about it"
    Once again, appologies to you all.
    Time, is an effortless construction :)

  15. #15

    Default

    looking at the shot posted, i must say i stand by what i say: the 18-55mm kit lens cannot make it. just look at the sharpness & detail, not there. colour & contrast also not good. purple fringing very bad.

    go get a 17-40L & u know what i mean. pain one time & thats it, then there will be no turning back. have u peep into other forums where others posted their 20D shot with top lenses? be warn, u will want more...

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    yup, I do find that windows viewer do seem a bit soft compared to other programs.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    AMK
    Posts
    5,711

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mpenza
    yup, I do find that windows viewer do seem a bit soft compared to other programs.
    The trick to see sharpness in window viewer is to see in 'actual size' first, then switch to 'best fit' and the actual sharpness will be shown.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    it works but troublesome lah.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    AMK
    Posts
    5,711

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mpenza
    it works but troublesome lah.
    The reason I use window viewer as my laptop regen faster when using with Canon viewer...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •