Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: High Speed PCMCIA Adapter for CF Cards

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    669

    Default High Speed PCMCIA Adapter for CF Cards

    Hi all,

    Are these High Speed PCMCIA Adapter for CF cards sold in S'pore?

    http://www.mydigitaldiscount.com/s.n...jGr5XDqQLvpAe_

    http://www.mydigitaldiscount.com/s.n...it.A/id.219/.f

    if yes may i know where (exactly which shop and how much? need to ask someone in S'pore to get it for me if it is cheaper) to get it?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    32bit card bus

    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=49929

    there was a MO last year and it was going for S$135

    look like u can get better price from US, may be you should help us to get it from US instead

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    669

    Default

    the Aska reader....i think they are the first one who came up with this, later other companies like Delkin and Lexar came up with their version.....a year has past, maybe the price have dropped (hopefully a lot)..... hmmmm

    anyone has the latest price from S'pore?

    Thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by Wai
    32bit card bus

    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=49929

    there was a MO last year and it was going for S$135

    look like u can get better price from US, may be you should help us to get it from US instead

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,252

    Default

    check with EastGear. I remember they used to stock it cos i nearly got one from them. Didn't get it in the end cos i forgot to until the day i left the country. Delkin apparently is just an Aska with a diff label.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    669

    Default

    yes...u r rite... i remember reading somewhere that ASKA is the OEM for Delkin...

    k...thanks i will write an email to EastGear then....


    Cheers........

    Quote Originally Posted by szekiat
    check with EastGear. I remember they used to stock it cos i nearly got one from them. Didn't get it in the end cos i forgot to until the day i left the country. Delkin apparently is just an Aska with a diff label.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plinius
    yes...u r rite... i remember reading somewhere that ASKA is the OEM for Delkin...

    k...thanks i will write an email to EastGear then....


    Cheers........
    The original manufacturer is ASKA, I have the one from Delkin, works great.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cons digger.
    Posts
    3,924

    Default

    What's so special about this adaptor being so expensive? It seems to me buying a USB2 card reader is a way cheaper alternative.
    “How fortunate for leaders that men do not think.” - Adolf Hitler

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    469

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plinius
    yes...u r rite... i remember reading somewhere that ASKA is the OEM for Delkin...

    k...thanks i will write an email to EastGear then....


    Cheers........

    Do keep us update definitely intrested in knowing how much is te cost, beat plugging cables in and out of the cam, i would probably leave the pcmcia CF reader permanently in my lappy

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dragius
    Do keep us update definitely intrested in knowing how much is te cost, beat plugging cables in and out of the cam, i would probably leave the pcmcia CF reader permanently in my lappy
    Note that these adapter are 32 bit Cardbus based CF card adapter not the cheap and slow 16-bit PCMCIA based CF Card adapter.

    Why not USB2 adapter? Because the Cardbus adapter is faster and one less thing to loose if you do work remotely.

  10. #10

    Default

    My 16 bit PCMCIA really chokes up the CPU resources... the whole system crawls and I'm struggling through my regular applications (eg. Photoshop)..

    Anybody knows if the 32bit Cardbus solves that problem?

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,252

    Default

    the 32bit works great. But last i checked EG doesn't do it anymore either. I did a test on my 1Gb G4 at EG once, brilliant stuff. Fast and doesn't suck resources.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •