Thread: is Nikon 8700 a good start for a newbie?

Default is Nikon 8700 a good start for a newbie?

hi,

i have been reading quite a number of reviews on DSLR, and i might be wrong, but it seems to me that Nikon 8700 is one that can do a macro shot at about 3cm. I love macro photography and that's why i am focusing on this aspect of the camera besides other features....

would like to hear your comments about this camera and its competitors... which do you think is a good DSLR start for a complete newbie ?

thanks
    Hope to learn from everyone here....

Quote Originally Posted by erictan8888
    hi,

i have been reading quite a number of reviews on DSLR, and i might be wrong, but it seems to me that Nikon 8700 is one that can do a macro shot at about 3cm. I love macro photography and that's why i am focusing on this aspect of the camera besides other features....

would like to hear your comments about this camera and its competitors... which do you think is a good DSLR start for a complete newbie ?

thanks
    Hmm....i am also new but 8700 is from the coolpix series? I dun think its a DSLR. Prosumer cam is more like it but i may be wrong

Nope, not DSLR, but a high-end prosumer model.
    No. 1 feature of SLR is changeable lens.

Default buy 8800!

hi,

thanks
    buy 8800! better

i tthink 8800 would be a better idea for macro....since more zoom n with VR somemore...

roughly how much is the 8800 ? thx

read a user opinion on the 8800:

the user says "Well, the good news is that the camera arrived and I bought it! The bad news is that the macro function is practically useless because of the shadows! I see there is a cool light adaptor that apparently fixes this but I can't believe such a major flaw was part of the design in the first place. Other than that, it's pretty cool. But, because macro is one of my major things, I don't know if I want to put up with adding an attachment all the time or change cameras.

Anyone have any ideas about macro? "