Thread: tips on starting out with food photography

Default tips on starting out with food photography

hello fellow photographers!

I am a budding photographer who wish to start exploring on food photography. Currently i have a nikon d7000 , 18-105 kit lens and a sb600. Is it possible to try food photography with these equipments and is there other tips on what lenses is appropriate and probably how to take good food photographs?

Default Re: tips on starting out with food photography

Quote Originally Posted by musicoverline View Post

I am a budding photographer who wish to start exploring on food photography. Currently i have a nikon d7000 , 18-105 kit lens and a sb600. Is it possible to try food photography with these equipments and is there other tips on what lenses is appropriate and probably how to take good food photographs?
    Yes. It is possible with your current kit... but I would think that you need an external flash for better control of the lighting.
    I am not a photographer, just someone who happened to have a couple of cameras.
    My lousy shots

Quote Originally Posted by rhino123 View Post
    Yes. It is possible with your current kit... but I would think that you need an external flash for better control of the lighting.
    hehehe SB600 IS an external flash

TS, I think your set-up is more or less there.
    It all depends on how you wish to compose your food shots. If you want to go really close and pick out intricate details, then you might need a lens that focuses closer than the 18-105.
    Experiment with your composition and lighting. D7000's pop-up flash can be used in commander mode to trigger your SB600 wirelessly. Useful when you want to try side-lighting on your subject.
    Exploring! :)

good enough.
    go out n shoot now
    Stirring up emotions with pics - cyliew

Maybe you also need a macro lens and led light or plus a diffuser for your flash so the light is not too harsh?
    My Flickr
    ~Neko baka