Thread: 600D body + 17-40 lens

Default 600D body + 17-40 lens

Hello everyone!

Ive been thinking about buying a camera for 2yrs +, and i just recently decided to purchase one.

Was recommended 600D + 17-40 lens, the lens being 2nd hand.

Recommendation?

Default Re: 600D body + 17-40 lens

17-55 f2.8

Quite some threads are created on 17-40 on crop body, and under many circumstances, people recommend 17-55 on crop and 17-40 on FF.
    Too many great equipments but too little quality photos. [My Flickr] | [My Blog]

search my posts with regards to these lenses.

You haven't mentioned what you primary usage is like or your level of experience.
    Assuming you're an an absolute beginner and using the camera as a general hobbyist (shooting anything and everything that looks vaguely interesting, family events etc), I'd suggest you consider the humble kit lens (18-55). I believe it only adds 100+ to the body if bought as a kit, and covers the most used focal lengths.
    If you decide to move on to 'higher-end' lenses later, it won't be that much of a loss. You could even keep it as a backup (it saved my bacon on an event shoot this year, when the more expensive lens failed on me) or for use when you want a lightweight setup.

Yeah, i am an absolute beginner at this. Will be bringing the camera on a trip to laos.

Based on what you said, then i should just get the camera + the 18-55 lens. When i am more familiar with the camera and such, then i should purchase a better lens?

Quote Originally Posted by silvercoo View Post
    Yeah, i am an absolute beginner at this. Will be bringing the camera on a trip to laos.

Based on what you said, then i should just get the camera + the 18-55 lens. When i am more familiar with the camera and such, then i should purchase a better lens?
    nope. when you find your style of photography, then you venture into the purchase of your next better lens.

if you are comfortable at where you are, save the money and make more photos.