Thread: Re: Any recommendations for 85mm 1.2f type of lens for Canon 40D

Red face Re: Any recommendations for 85mm 1.2f type of lens for Canon 40D

Hi, everyone,

I am a newbie and wanted to get some feedback or advice on achieving the effect a Canon 85mm 1.2f on a Canon 40D but as I am on a budget, are there other brands that are cheaper but yet will be able to fit on my 40D and produce the same type of effect?

Hope to hear from all the experienced people soon!

Thanks!
    Chris Wang

Default Re: Any recommendations for 85mm 1.2f type of lens for Canon 40D

Quote Originally Posted by trigrr View Post
    Hi, everyone,

I am a newbie and wanted to get some feedback or advice on achieving the effect a Canon 85mm 1.2f on a Canon 40D but as I am on a budget, are there other brands that are cheaper but yet will be able to fit on my 40D and produce the same type of effect?

Thanks!
    What effect are you trying to achieve... and do you mean 85mm f1.2L? If that is the case, I doubt there is any lens that can give you exactly the same out of focus blurish effect the same as Canon's 85mm f1.2L. You can get the Sigma's 85mm f1.4 which will give you more or less the same effect.
    I am not a photographer, just someone who happened to have a couple of cameras.
    My lousy shots

Thanks for the quick advice, rhino123...yes the same beautiful effect that the Canon 85mm gives..appreciate the recommendation...do you think it is advisable to buy 2nd hand or just go ahead and invest in a brand new Sigma?
    Chris Wang

have you tried 50mm f/1.8 II?
    Fujifilm X-Pro2 Graphite, X-Pro1
    XF 14/2.8, 18/2, 23/2, 35/1.4, 56/1.2, 60/2.4, 55-200/3.5-4.8

Hi, everyone,

Thanks!
    You can try the Samyang 85mm f/1.4..

I use a Pentax system, but you can see some samples here: http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/penta...et-wonder.html

Loads of reviews of this beautiful lens on the net. Catch? Manual focus.