Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 28th April 2003   #1
pcman

Default Nikon D2X coming (maybe not)

Hi Nikon Japan registered the D2X as trademark back in 17 march 2003. It may be coming out this model soon or may be just to protect the copy right. DO not flame me. I am just provide you some info. Check out this link.

http://image.pbase.com/u27/squashbs/...5.capture2.jpg

Last edited by pcman; 28th April 2003 at 07:59 PM.
Old 28th April 2003   #2
scanner

Default Re: Nikon D2X coming (maybe not)

Quote:
Originally posted by pcman
Hi Nikon Japan registered the D2X as trademark back in 17 march 2003. It may be coming out this model soon or may be just to protect the copy right. DO not flame me. I am just provide you some info. Check out this link.

http://image.pbase.com/u27/squashbs/...5.capture2.jpg
Can't enter leh.
Old 28th April 2003   #3
SNAG

Default Re: Re: Nikon D2X coming (maybe not)

Quote:
Originally posted by scanner
Can't enter leh.
it can liao.
interesting.....
i think a new camera is in the works...
Sponsored Link
Old 28th April 2003   #4
Larry

at this point in time, i suspect it's more to protect copyright, but i'm quite surprised to find that they're only doing it now. thought they would have block-booked all the D2x/h, D3x/h, etc etc by now.
Old 28th April 2003   #5
kongg

erm Kwah bo leh!!!!
Old 28th April 2003   #6

Here you go :

... or if you like to see it for yourself, here's the search page:

http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/gate.exe?...ate=gn30k9.1.1

Just type "D2X" or "D2H" into the search field

US Patent and TradeMark Office website:
http://www.uspto.gov/main/trademarks.htm

Last edited by Avatar; 29th April 2003 at 08:01 PM.
Old 28th April 2003   #7
espn

Hmmmm

Just a stupid question from me (I never played with SLR before... so...)

Is it the lenses that make the camera fully manual? Or is it the camera's capability?

I wonder if fully manual does it mean there's a focusing ring on the lens itself or the camera, I'm sorry but how does it all work.

I'm getting very interested in SLR systems after being crippled by digital cameras when it comes to focusing I think D/SLR can go fully manual right?

And if D2X does come out, I hope it pushes the D100 price further.
Old 29th April 2003   #8
ralphii82sg

Quote:
Originally posted by espn

And if D2X does come out, I hope it pushes the D100 price further.
well...to be honest...i dun think the entry of the d2x(IF there's really gonna be one) will push down the price of a d100...they are in 2 different league, targeting 2 different groups of ppl, it'll bring down the price of the d1x/h instead.... but one thing is for sure... the entry of this cam is gonna be very interesting...very, very interesting...the though of which body this cam is gonna be base on and whether it uses a full-size ccd is already making one excited...hehehehe~
Old 29th April 2003   #9
clive

there are
1. fully manual lenses
2. fully maunal camera bodies (SLR)

for nikon's case, every lens b4 "AF-D" is fully manual ie u got to turn the focusing ring on the lens in order to achieve focus

and bodies like fm2, F3, etc are fully manual ie no AF, no AE

and if u use an AF lens on a manual body; there will not be AF; likewise for a maunal lens on a AF body
Old 29th April 2003   #10
Jed

Quote:
Originally posted by ralphii82sg
whether it uses a full-size ccd
Nikon has been on record saying that they do not intend to release a full frame sensor DSLR for the immediate future, and instead of build up their DX system.
Old 29th April 2003   #11
Ian

Interesting indeed

Here's my take on it's possible meaning.

(history bit first)
Nikon announced the D1x on Feb 5 2001 at PMA, they filed for US trademark registration on the 22nd March 2001 and the body arrived for sale in Mid-late June 2001.

Given this and the application for trademark of a D2H my informed guess is to expect some major news soon, possibly to co-incide with the release of the DX 12~24 sometime in May.

For those who don't already know:

Maxwell's (Australian Nikon Agent) have listed a tentative price of 2499 AUD including 10% GST for the 12-24/4 DX lens. No pricing info for the USA via B&H as yet.

Last edited by Ian; 29th April 2003 at 02:15 AM.
Old 29th April 2003   #12
Jed

It's £800 over here, so it's there or thereabouts.
Old 29th April 2003   #13
willyfoo

Quote:
Originally posted by Jed
Nikon has been on record saying that they do not intend to release a full frame sensor DSLR for the immediate future, and instead of build up their DX system.
Interestingly... I heard otherwise from a supposedly reliable source which threw me totally off-track from what I thought. So at this stage I wouldn't place my bets on anything yet..
Old 29th April 2003   #14
oceanxp

Quote:
Originally posted by willyfoo
Interestingly... I heard otherwise from a supposedly reliable source which threw me totally off-track from what I thought. So at this stage I wouldn't place my bets on anything yet..
sign of a remaking of .... i join your rank !!
Old 30th April 2003   #15
Jed

Quote:
Originally posted by willyfoo
I'm already stupidly late to get to bed cause I've got an early flight to catch tomorrow, but if this is still active when I get back in a couple of days I'll post a quote and source.

Like I said, I think this is the best thing Nikon have done since the D1, and that wasn't too long ago either. So fret not.
Old 3rd May 2003   #16
newuser

Did a search for "Nikon D2X" and was surprised at the number of forums worldwide talking about it.

Anyway, currently Nikon does not have a Pro DSLR to rival the 1Ds at 11MP or 1D at 8fps.

The only other rival of the 1Ds, the Nikon family has is perhaps Kodak's DSLR at 14MP using a Nikon mount.

It's rumored D2X or D2H may be what's need to fill in the gap and the needs of many Pro Nikon photographers out there. Since it is too expensive for the Pro Nikon photographers to switch to a 1Ds.

Old 4th May 2003   #17
Jed

Forgot all about this until it became active again. Here goes:

"Jeremy Gilbert, Group Marketing Manager at Nikon UK, confirmed that it is indeed the beginning of a new direction for Nikon, and that there are no plans for a full-frame camera. Although he was unable to divulge any details of Nikon's next high-end camera, he did confirm that it will use a small-format sensor. The sensor format is even to get its own branding - it will be known from now on as the DX sensor."

In black and white, from a named Nikon source and not a random Nikon rep. It could be wrong, but you heard it here first. Well, you should have in the April issue of Professional Photography anyway, which is where that quote camera from.

That should cue wild celebrations from all Nikon users but I have this suspicion there'll be a fair amount of groans out there as well. Fret not!
Old 18th September 2005   #18
jojo

Anyone know what is the latest price ?? Thanks.
Old 18th September 2005   #19
jnet6
Advertiser

Dig out a old thread for asking a price?????
there is already 1 thread talking about it. (u dun know??? )
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=151979
Old 18th September 2005   #20
tltan

Talking Re: Nikon D2X coming (maybe not)

hi there Jnet,

I was also surprised to suddenly read release of D2x when ppl in this thread is already using them for some time. haha

But then again, dont you think Jojo did a good job instead of posting new one...haha, at least he bother to search through first mah..and that is good
Closed Thread